WORLD HORROR CONVENTION 2013 - PROGRESS REPORT #3

This report is sent via email to registered members of the Bram Stoker Awards® Weekend 2013, incorporating World Horror Convention (WHC) and specifically deals with WHC matters.

This is the LAST CHANCE for you to vote for WHC Grandmaster (if you have previously voted after you will *not* be sent a second ballot). See below for more details.

Any questions should be directed to Rocky Wood via president@horror.org.

PROGRESS REPORT

We have made enormous progress on the overall Convention. An Organizing Committee, Chaired by Greg Herren, continues its work. Rocky Wood is Chairing the World Horror Convention component.

The Organizing Committee (double-click to send an email or head over to the website at http://www.stokers2013.org/) is:

- Chair/Programming Greg Herren
- WHC Chair/Guests/Programming Rocky Wood
- Pitch Sessions R J Cavender
- Party Programming <u>Boyd Harris</u>
- Social Media Anita Siraki
- Website Rick Pickman
- Dealers Room John Prescott
- Art Show Chad Savage
- Editor, Souvenir Book Norman Rubinstein
- HWA Administrator Brad Hodson
- Ex-Officio Lisa Morton

Our website is at http://www.stokers2013.org/ and is updated regularly. As you registered through that website we know you know about it – but keep visiting as it is regularly updated. If you are on Facebook don't forget to visit and join that page: http://www.facebook.com/groups/416385721720103/.

IMPORTANT (PLEASE READ): WHC GRANDMASTER – WE WANT YOUR VOTE! LAST CHANCE!

As a Registered Member of WHC2013, you have the exclusive right to vote for the WHC Grandmaster (that person will be invited to attend the Con as our Guest).

Only living people are eligible. Past winners are ineligible to win again - the list of previous winners is:

Robert Bloch-1991; Stephen King-1992; Richard Matheson-1993; Anne Rice-1994; Clive Barker-1995; Dean Koontz-1996; Peter Straub-1997; Brian Lumley-1998; Ramsey Campbell-1999; Harlan Ellison-2000; Ray Bradbury-2001; Charles L. Grant-2002; Chelsea Quinn Yarbro-2003; Jack Williamson-2004; F. Paul Wilson – 2005; Ray Garton – 2006; Joe R. Lansdale – 2007; Robert McCammon – 2008; Tanith Lee – 2009; James Herbert – 2010; Jack Ketchum – 2011; and TED Klein – 2012

Only registered members of the World Horror Convention 2013 are eligible to vote (that is you!). If you have any questions, email mwillmoth@earthlink.net or call him at +1 480-945-6890. The winner will be officially contacted in late January 2013.

Voting is a one-step process. If you already voted after Progress Report #1 you will not get a new ballot. But if you haven't or you registered after the last ballot was sent you will shortly be sent a ballot via email in which you write in the name of the person you wish to see as WHC Grandmaster 2013.

Voting will close on 20 January but there is no need to hold back as you won't see who other people are voting for. So, you are encouraged to vote when you receive that ballot. If you haven't received your ballot by 15 January please write to president@horror.org. This is an automated ballot – you are voting online, so once you enter the information and click 'submit' the Ballot will be automatically sent in for counting.

The announcement of the winner will occur in Progress Report #4 and on the website, but only if the winner is able to attend the convention. Otherwise, the winner will be announced at Opening Ceremonies on Thursday 13 June. The actual award will be on display at the convention with the Award presentation on Friday 14 June.

Important Information

Hotel Details – we have booked the Hotel Monteleone, an iconic literary hotel in the French Quarter of New Orleans, which is said to be haunted. We have numerous function rooms booked for the varying programming areas. Discounted hotel rooms are available until one month before the Convention only. It is *very important* you understand this condition – if you book after that day you will not get a discounted rate at the Convention Hotel.

So far our attendees have booked well over 800 room nights, so let's fill up the Hotel!

You don't need to pay in advance, only leave a credit card and you can book using the special rates for a number of days either side of the Con if you are staying over to enjoy New Orleans. Online bookings are still unavailable but you can call and book toll-free. If you want to book from overseas email Greg Herren at gregh121@aol.com, who will fix it for you.

Full details about the Hotel, Rates, telephone booking numbers and so on are at the http://www.stokers2013.org/ website.

The Dealers Room – is nearly booked out, so if you are considering taking a Table DON'T DELAY. For more details go to the website and click on Dealers Room (under WHC information at the bottom of the entry page).

In addition we have contracted with a mainstream **bookstore** (which will operate from a different room), so you will be able to buy the books from your favorite Guest authors for signing.

The Art Show has been announced with the very experienced Chad Savage co-ordinating what looks to be a top notch Event. The room is all organized as is all the information you need to participate (it will feature Guest of Honor Glenn Chadbourne and such luminaries as Alan M Clark). For more details go to the website and click on Art Show (under WHC information at the bottom of the entry page).

Registration – even though you are registered you will know people who have not yet stepped up. As a reminder the \$150 rate ends on April 30. There will be no extensions to that date – after that date the rate is \$175.

Don't forget tickets for the Bram Stoker Awards® Banquet are separate from Registration. You must purchase them separately. These are limited to 240, so please don't leave it until the last minute and risk missing out on this iconic event. If you forgot to buy Banquet tickets when you registered you can now do so at a dedicated link: http://stokers2013.horror.org/register.html

Programming is well underway. All our Guests are locked down as to timing – Jonathan Maberry, Ramsey Campbell, Caitlin R Kiernan, Bruce Boston, Glenn Chadbourne, Amber Benson, Jeff Strand and John Joseph Adams. Each will have a major appearance on Friday or Saturday, as well as a kaffeeklatch and other appearance, such as readings.

Any Lifetime Achievement Award winner the HWA Lifetime Achievement Committee chooses and the WHC Grandmaster will also be invited and included in the Programming.

Our first event will be the Welcome Cocktail Reception from 6pm on Thursday 13 June and the last event will be the Closing at 1-2pm on Sunday 16 June. Major events include the Mass Signing from 7-9pm on Friday 14 June and the Bram Stoker Awards Banquet from 7.30-10.30pm on Saturday 15 June. HWA has confirmed the Banquet will be webcast for the third consecutive year. The HWA Member Meeting will be held from 10-11am on Sunday 16 June.

We are now able to announce the first of our many special program items:

- "Dark Poets Face to Face" Chaired by Bram Stoker Award Winner for Superior Achievement in Poetry, Bruce Boston. Dark poets read and discuss their favorite poems written by other members on the panel.
- The 'traditional' Dead Dog Party will run after the official Closing Ceremony and until 5pm on Sunday, for a last chance to mix with your fellow Convention goers while waiting to depart for your flight, or just hanging before going out for dinner!
- Caitlin R Kiernan will have an exclusive Reading in the Reading Room from 4pm on Saturday 15 June.

We will complete programming as to Panels and Readings around March and further announcements will be made from time to time.

Upcoming:

- More Programming (but not until April 2013)
- Possible announcement of WHC Grandmaster
- Announcement of HWA Lifetime Achievement Award Winners
- Progress Report #4

Rocky Wood

Chair, World Horror Convention 2013