The Specialty Press Award

HWA 2012 Specialty Press Award Goes to Centipede Press

Centipede Press, of Lakewood, Colorado, will receive the Horror Writers Association's Specialty Press Award for 2012. The Award will be presented during the Bram Stoker Awards® Banquet, to be held this year in New Orleans on June 15.

The annual Specialty Press Award recognizes a publisher outside the mainstream New York City publishing community that specializes in dark-themed fiction. Winners are typically "small presses" specializing in limited editions, small print runs, or the work of new and relatively unknown authors. The winner of the award is determined by a majority vote of the Horror Writers Association (HWA) Board.

Jerad Walters' Centipede Press started in 2001 and specializes in horror, crime and science fiction, as well as art books, career retrospectives, and critical studies on horror films. Authors they've published include Stephen King, Thomas Ligotti, H.P. Lovecraft, Patrick McGrath, Jim Thompson and Cornell Woolrich. Centipede Press titles strive to be excellent examples of bookmaking, with superior design, page layout, and dust jackets. For more information about Centipede Press, please visit

Past Recipients

The following publishers have received the HWA Specialty Press Award:

2011 - Bad Moon Books and Hippocampus Press
2010 - Dark Regions Press
2009 - Tartarus Press, Ray Russell & Rosalie Parker
2008 - Bloodletting Press, Larry Roberts
2006 - PS Publishing, Peter Crowther
2005 - Necessary Evil Press, Don Koish
2004 - Delirium Books, Shane Ryan Staley
2003 - Earthling Publications, Paul Miller
2002 - Night Shade Books, Jason Williams & Jeremy Lassen
2000 - Subterranean Press, William K. Schafer
1999 - Ash-Tree Press, Christopher & Barbara Roden
1998 - Gauntlet Publications, Barry Hoffman
1997 - Cemetery Dance, Richard Chizmar

Copyright 2012 - All Rights Reserved -

Template by OS Templates