Ten days to go! There's still time to book your hotel room.

StokerCon 2018
Progress Report #5

StokerCon 2018 will once again feature Horror University, the Final Frame Film Competition, the Ann Radcliffe Academic Conference, Librarians' Day, and - of course - the gala presentation of the Bram Stoker Awards®!

We can't wait to see you March 1st-4th in Providence, RI!

Take a look at the below to see just a small part of what's in store:

If you'd like to start planning your StokerCon experience now, we've got a sneak peek here at our 52-page Pocket Program! Don't worry, you'll each get one of these in a nice printed hard copy when you register at the convention, but in the meantime you can download this or our convenient Official StokerCon App to get the programming lowdown.
Get the Pocket Program PDF
StokerCon is proud to be able to offer our attendees the chance to take part in a very special event: The Robert H. Barlow Centennial Celebration at The John Hay Library. This special event will happen on Thursday, March 1st, at 5:30 p.m.

Join Paul
LaFarge of Brown University's John Hay Library for a special discussion of
author, poet, and Lovecraft associate R. H. Barlow on the centennial of his
birth year. Please note: This free event takes place off premises at the
John Hay Library, 20 Prospect Street, and requires pre-registration online
or at convention registration. (90 minutes)
Register for the Barlow Celebration
We've just announced the eleven extraordinary short films that will be competing for the $1,000 Grand Prize in our Final Frame Film Competition. This event has become one of StokerCon's most anticipated and popular features, so be sure to mark Friday night on your con calendar!

Competition Director Jonathan Lees will be joined by our panel of judges: producer Craig Engler (Z-Nation), author Grady Hendrix (Paperbacks From Hell, My Best Friend's Exorcism), writer-editor Michael Gingold (Fangoria, Rue Morgue), filmmaker Lynne Hansen (Chomp), and screenwriter Lisa Morton (Meet the Hollowheads, Blood Angels).

Click the button to see the list of films and some appetite-whetting images.
Final Frame Film Competition Preview!
The Horror Writers Association proudly announces the winners of the 2017 Mentor of the Year Award, the Silver Hammer Award, and the Richard Laymon President’s Award. This year's awards will be presented during StokerCon™ 2018 at the historic Biltmore Hotel located in Providence, Rhode Island, March 1st-4th.

The Mentor of the Year Award was established in 2016 to recognize a writer who has offered extraordinary service to the HWA’s Mentor Program, which pairs newer writers with more established writers. This year, Mentor Program Chair, Brian Hatcher, has chosen Angel Leigh McCoy as the 2017 Mentor of the Year.

Angel Leigh McCoy is a writer, audiobook narrator, editor, video game designer, and the HWA webmaster. Her novelette, Charlie Darwin, or the Trine of 1809 was published by Nevermet Press, and she has had short stories appear in Strange Aeons, Necrotic Tissue, and Ravens in the Library by QuietThunder. As a game writer, she has worked on Guild Wars 2, various Microsoft game projects, White Wolf's World of Darkness, and Forgotten Realms among many others. Aside from a storied twenty-five-year career, she makes time for her cats, Boo, Simon, and Lappyloo, who make her world cozy.

The HWA presents the Silver Hammer Award in recognition of extraordinary volunteerism by a member who dedicates valuable time and effort to the organization. The award is determined by HWA’s Board of Trustees. This year’s recipient is Kenneth W. Cain, who serves as a key member of HWA’s Membership Committee. His duties include officially welcoming and assisting new members, and consulting on membership approval and qualification issues, tasks which he has performed for several years.

Kenneth W. Cain is the author of four novels, The Saga of I trilogy and United States of the Dead, and four short story collections, These Old Tales, Fresh Cut Tales, Embers, and the forthcoming Darker Days. He is also the editor for Crystal Lake Publishing's Tales From The Lake Volume 5. Early on, shows like The Twilight Zone, The Outer Limits, Alfred Hitchcock Presents, and One Step Beyond created a sense of wonder for the unknown that continues to fuel his writing today. He resides in Chester County, Pennsylvania with his wife and two children.

The Richard Laymon President’s Award is named in honor of Richard Laymon, who died in 2001 while serving as the HWA’s President. As the name implies, it is given by the HWA’s sitting President. The award is presented to a volunteer who has served HWA in an especially exemplary manner and has shown extraordinary dedication to the organization.
HWA President Lisa Morton has chosen Greg Chapman to receive the 2017 Richard Laymon Award. As a graphic designer, Chapman has served the HWA for many years, providing everything from book covers to website graphics to convention banners. “Greg’s extraordinary gifts as a graphic artist have been crucial in bringing HWA into the 21st century in terms of our visual impact and overall branding,” said Morton. “His skills as a writer ensure that his art always tells a compelling story. We’re very lucky to have such a talented – and fast! – craftsman in our ranks.”

Greg Chapman is a horror author from Australia. He is the author of the Bram Stoker Award®-nominated and Australian Shadows Award-nominated novel Hollow House, the novel The Noctuary: Pandemonium and the novellas: Torment, Vaudeville, The Last Night of October and The Eschatologist. He is also an artist and illustrated the Bram Stoker Award®-winning graphic novel Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, written by Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton.
There's still time to get tickets to our gala Bram Stoker Awards Banquet and presentation! Enjoy a fine meal (choose from one of three delectable entrees), and then experience the excitement of watching a line-up of your favorite authors - including Linda Addison, Ramsey Campbell, Craig Engler, Christopher Golden, Caitlin R. Kiernan, Leslie Klinger, Victor LaValle, Elizabeth Massie, Thomas Monteleone, James Moore, Tim Waggoner, Sam Weller, F. Paul Wilson, and more - present horror's premiere awards.

NOTE: The awards presentation will be opened to all attendees after the banquet, but we can't guarantee the availability of seating.
Buy Your Banquet Ticket NOW!
Copyright © *|CURRENT_YEAR|* *|LIST:COMPANY|*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.