The 2013 Bram Stoker Awards® Winners


At long last, the anticipation is over. The Horror Writers Association has announced the winners of the 2013 Bram Stoker Awards at its annual Bram Stoker Awards® Banquet held tonight as part of the World Horror Convention in Portland, Oregon.


Fourteen new bronze haunted-house statuettes were handed over to the writers responsible for creating superior works of horror last year. This year's winners are:


Superior Achievement in a NOVEL
Doctor Sleep by Stephen King (Scribner)


Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL
The Evolutionist by Rena Mason (Nightscape Press)


Superior Achievement in a YOUNG ADULT NOVEL
Dog Days by Joe McKinney (JournalStone)


Superior Achievement in a GRAPHIC NOVEL
Alabaster: Wolves by Caitlín R. Kiernan (Dark Horse Comics)


Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION
"The Great Pity" by Gary Braunbeck (Chiral Mad 2, Written Backwards)


Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION
"Night Train to Paris" by David Gerrold (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan./Feb. 2013)


Superior Achievement in a SCREENPLAY
The Walking Dead: "Welcome to the Tombs" by Glen Mazzara (AMC TV)


Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY
After Death… edited by Eric J. Guignard (Dark Moon Books)


Superior Achievement in a FICTION COLLECTION
The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories by Laird Barron (Night Shade Books)


Superior Achievement in NONFICTION
Nolan on Bradbury: Sixty Years of Writing About the Master of Science Fiction by William F. Nolan (Hippocampus Press)


Superior Achievement in POETRY
Four Elements by Marge Simon, Rain Graves, Charlee Jacob, and Linda Addison (Bad Moon Books/Evil Jester Press)


HWA also presented its annual Lifetime Achievement Awards and its Specialty Press Award. Editor Stephen Jones was on hand to accept his Lifetime Achievement Award, while Goosebumps creator R. L. Stine accepted via video. The Specialty Press Award went to Gary Fry of Gray Friar Press.


The Silver Hammer Award, for outstanding service to HWA, was voted by the organization's board of trustees to Norman Rubenstein. The President's Richard Laymon Service Award was given to JG Faherty.


Click here to download a high resolution photo of the winners. Caption: "The 2013 Bram Stoker Award® Winners: (from left to right) David Gerrold (Short Fiction), Stephen Jones (Lifetime Achievement Award), William F. Nolan (Nonfiction), Rain Graves (Poetry), Joe McKinney (Young Adult), Linda Addison (Poetry), Eric J. Guignard (Anthology), Rena Mason (First Novel), and JG Faherty (Richard Laymon Award). Photo by Stacy Scranton-Morgan."


Click here to download the Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot press release as a PDF.